The Twilight Sad

The Twilight Sad

May 29, 2019

The Independent

Live Music

The Twilight Sad are a Scottish post-punk/indie rock band, comprising James Graham (vocals), Andy MacFarlane (guitar), Johnny Docherty (bass), Brendan Smith (keyboards) and Sebastien Schultz (drums). The band are signed to Rock Action Records and have released five albums, as well as several EPs and singles. Their 2007 debut album, Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters, drew widespread acclaim from critics, and the band toured for the album across Europe and the United States throughout 2007 and 2008. Sessions inspired by stripped-down and reworked live performances yielded the 2008 mini-album, Here, It Never Snowed. Afterwards It Did.

Their second album, Forget the Night Ahead, marked a shift in the band’s direction; lyrically more personal and musically darker and more streamlined, and was the band’s last album with founding member Mark Devine, who left amicably in January 2018. The Twilight Sad’s fifth studio album, It Won/t Be Like This All the Time, was released in January 2019 to further critical acclaim.

The band describes their sound as “folk with layers of noise”, and music critics have described the band as “perennially unhappy” and “a band that inject some real emotion and dynamic excitement into a comparatively standard template.”

The Twilight Sad // VTr (Official Video)